Carolyn Howard's Blog

Rocky Road – Am I crazy? February 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Carolyn Howard @ 6:19 pm

The question needs to be answered… no, I am not crazy.

When I tell someone that I am planning to run a 100 mile race (which I try not to do) that is usually the question that comes first.

Why am I doing it? Well, it is an exciting progression to my trail running that I started 2 years ago. It sounds like an amazing adventure that I can actually do close to home which impacts my family less. I love the idea of the physical and mental challenge that it will definitely provide. The people are incredible and I am constantly inspired by their stories.

Let’s dispel the rumor as well that I am running from something… I am blessed with a wonderful life. Running does make me tougher and more ready to handle the day. It is a great stress release for me and a chance to unplug. More on that later and my lifelong passion for running.

Back to the race…

When I didn’t get into Western States I was left thinking about how I wanted to plan my race goals. I know I want to increase my level of conditioning and adaptation for longer distances. I think Rocky Road will be perfect because although it’s not exactly a dream location/trail, it will give me the opportunity to test all the components of a long race. I have never run through the night or tested my nutrition past 50 miles. There is also a fine group of experienced runners entered and with the loop course I’m sure that I will be able to benefit from their experience.

I am beyond excited and scared, just looking forward to 6 am on Saturday morning and the incredible unknown.

 

 

Leave a Reply

